RRB ALP mock tests

Railway Recruitment Boards, Assistant Loco Pilot

Free practice tests

About RRB ALP

CEN No. 01/2026 invites online applications for Assistant Loco Pilot (Level 2, initial pay ₹19,900, medical standard A-1). The notice prints 11,127 vacancies across the RRBs; that figure is provisional and can change. Age is 18 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026, with the relaxations in para 5.1 (including 3 years for OBC-NCL and 5 years for SC and ST). The minimum qualification is Matriculation or SSLC plus an ITI (NCVT/SCVT) or a course-completed Act Apprenticeship in a listed trade, or a three-year diploma in Mechanical, Electrical, Electronics or Automobile Engineering (or a combination of those streams) in place of the ITI. A degree in those disciplines is also accepted in place of the diploma. Annexure A marks the post as not suitable for persons with benchmark disabilities. Candidates who have had LASIK or another refractive surgery are not eligible.

The stages are CBT-1, CBT-2, a Computer Based Aptitude Test (CBAT), document verification and a medical examination. CBT-1 is only a screen: shortlisting for CBT-2 is RRB-wise, at 15 times the vacancies of that RRB, on normalised CBT-1 marks. CBT-1 marks are not counted in the final panel. Questions are objective multiple choice, and are shown in the language the candidate chose (English, Hindi, or one of 13 other languages named in the notice) together with English. The notice does not state how many options a question has; this practice test uses four. There is one sitting of 60 minutes and no separate timer for each subject.

CBT-1 has 75 questions for 75 marks. A right answer scores 1. A wrong answer takes away one-third of a mark, taken here as 0.3333; a blank answer scores 0. The minimum to be eligible is 40% for UR and EWS, 30% for OBC-NCL, 30% for SC and 25% for ST, and the same percentages apply to ex-servicemen according to their community. Marks are normalised when the test is held in more than one shift. The syllabus is Mathematics, Mental Ability, and General Science (Physics, Chemistry and Life Sciences at Class 10 level). Unlike CEN 01/2025, this notice does not list a general-awareness part in CBT-1, and it does not say how many of the 75 questions fall in each subject.

CBT-2 has two separately timed parts: Part A, 100 questions in 90 minutes, and Part B, 75 questions in 60 minutes. The same one-third penalty applies. Only Part A marks are used later, and only if the candidate scores at least 35% in Part B, whatever the community. Part A covers Mathematics, General Intelligence and Reasoning, and Basic Science and Engineering. Part B is a trade test from the DGT syllabi; ITI and apprenticeship candidates sit their own trade, and diploma or degree candidates choose one trade from the list for their discipline. Candidates equal to eight times the ALP vacancies are then called for the CBAT on Part A marks, provided they have qualified Part B. Each CBAT battery must be cleared on its own, with a minimum T-score of 42, and there is no negative marking. The panel gives Part A and the CBAT equal weight (50:50).

RRB ALP CBT 1 exam pattern

60 minutes

RRB ALP CBT 2 exam pattern

2 hours 30 minutes (90 minutes for Part A and 60 minutes for Part B)

RRB ALP CBAT exam pattern

The notice does not state the minutes. Each test battery is separate.